MT-32 Buffer Overflow and Checksum Errors

General technical information about Sierra & classic games. Please do not ask game support questions here unless it directly relates to an existing thread.

Re: MT-32 Buffer Overflow and Checksum Errors

Postby Qbix » Thu Apr 07, 2011 3:01 am

have you tried getting a recent SVN build of DOSBox and enabling the special mode that adds delays to prevent the MT32 buffer overflow problem as I posted above ?
User avatar
Qbix
DOSBox Author
 
Posts: 445
Joined: Sun Nov 09, 2008 5:19 pm
Location: Friesland

Re: MT-32 Buffer Overflow and Checksum Errors

Postby Collector » Thu Apr 07, 2011 3:16 am

@ laffer: You should be fine. It is much like turning the Turbo switch off and back on again, which is what Sierra used to recommend as a work around for the speed related "Unable to initialize your audio hardware" SB driver error. However, give Qbix's suggestion a try.
01000010 01111001 01110100 01100101 00100000 01101101 01100101 00100001

Image
User avatar
Collector
Grand Poobah
 
Posts: 10437
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 12:57 am
Location: Sierraland

Re: MT-32 Buffer Overflow and Checksum Errors

Postby laffer » Thu Apr 07, 2011 4:12 am

I'll try that. The thing is I'm unfamiliar with what a SVN build is, but I'll google it :)
laffer
Sierra Enthusiast
 
Posts: 32
Joined: Thu Mar 24, 2011 2:13 pm
Gender: Not Specified

Re: MT-32 Buffer Overflow and Checksum Errors

Postby Collector » Thu Apr 07, 2011 1:53 pm

An SVN build is a developmental build. DOSBox is under continual development between releases. SVN reflects the latest code and includes bug fixes/features/code changes that may make it into the next version of DOSBox. In this case, how DOSBox communicates with an MT-32.

There are some SVN builds that include extra features that will not be included in the official builds fro various reasons, such as 3dfx voodoo chip emulation, built-in MT-32 emulation, printer support, port pass through, etc.

Try a plain vanilla build.

http://www.emucr.com/2011/04/dosbox-svn-r3692.html
01000010 01111001 01110100 01100101 00100000 01101101 01100101 00100001

Image
User avatar
Collector
Grand Poobah
 
Posts: 10437
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 12:57 am
Location: Sierraland

Re: MT-32 Buffer Overflow and Checksum Errors

Postby Qbix » Thu Apr 07, 2011 3:06 pm

Here is the new description of the midiconfig parameter
Code: Select all
# midiconfig: Special configuration options for the device driver. This is usually the id of the device you want to use.
#               When using a Roland MT-32 rev. 0 as midi output device, some games may require a delay in order to prevent 'buffer overflow' issues.
#               In that case, add 'delaysysex', for example: midiconfig=2 delaysysex
#               See the README/Manual for more details.


The status window of DOSBox should tell you that it is activated.
User avatar
Qbix
DOSBox Author
 
Posts: 445
Joined: Sun Nov 09, 2008 5:19 pm
Location: Friesland

Re: MT-32 Buffer Overflow and Checksum Errors

Postby Collector » Thu Apr 07, 2011 3:20 pm

I just realized that the SVN does not generate a new conf if a dosbox-SVN.conf already exists. The SVN that I just downloaded yesterday was using an SVN conf from last fall.
01000010 01111001 01110100 01100101 00100000 01101101 01100101 00100001

Image
User avatar
Collector
Grand Poobah
 
Posts: 10437
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 12:57 am
Location: Sierraland

Re: MT-32 Buffer Overflow and Checksum Errors

Postby beigemore » Thu Aug 11, 2011 1:02 pm

I was thinking about throwing together some sort of picture guide so people that don't own an MT-32 can see and more easily understand what is required to connect one. It's a mess of cables, but totally worth it for any PC game that supports it. I used to have issues with the older versions of DOSBox using the MT-32, but I recently tried a build from May 25th with a Roland MIDI-to-USB adapter and it worked amazingly well. There are still some games I've had issues with getting MT-32 support to work with in both DOSBox and on a real computer, such as Legend of Kyrandia and Arena. I think I also had some issues with 4D Driving/Stunts in DOSBox, but I don't have the MT-32 out to verify at the moment. The build I used was ykhwong's at http://ykhwong.x-y.net/. With that said, I can never seem to get MT-32 emulation to work with any release of DOSBox that says it supports it -- guess I'm just dumb in that manner, but hearing demos of it on youtube makes it sound awful compared to the real thing.
beigemore
Sierra Enthusiast
 
Posts: 40
Joined: Sat Aug 06, 2011 6:13 am
Gender: Not Specified

Re: MT-32 Buffer Overflow and Checksum Errors

Postby MusicallyInspired » Thu Aug 11, 2011 1:27 pm

The official DOSBox builds don't have MT-32 emulation. Only custom builds made by others do.
01010100 01101000 01100101 00100000 01100011 01100001 01101011 01100101 00100000 01101001 01110011 00100000 01100001 00100000 01101100 01101001 01100101 00101110
User avatar
MusicallyInspired
Village Elder
 
Posts: 1939
Joined: Fri Oct 10, 2008 8:46 am
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Gender: Male

Re: MT-32 Buffer Overflow and Checksum Errors

Postby Collector » Thu Aug 11, 2011 2:04 pm

Ykhwong's build does have Munt support, but you still need to have the ROMs for it to work. As far as the YouTube examples, it may be from earlier builds of Munt before it got as close to the real thing as it has. It might be that the ones you found also did not properly configure the games to use MT-32 sound.
01000010 01111001 01110100 01100101 00100000 01101101 01100101 00100001

Image
User avatar
Collector
Grand Poobah
 
Posts: 10437
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 12:57 am
Location: Sierraland

Re: MT-32 Buffer Overflow and Checksum Errors

Postby beigemore » Sat Aug 13, 2011 10:52 am

Yeah, I've had the roms since back before Canadacow got the first cease and desist stuff from Roland. I've got them sitting the root of the DOSBox folder. When I try to set the MIDI device to MT-32, the status window says:

MT32:Couldn't find control files
MIDI:Can't open device:mt32 with config:.

I normally have the midiconfig parameter in dosbox.conf set to 1, since that's my USB-to-MIDI adapter ID. MT32_CONTROL.ROM is 512kb, as is MT32_PCM.ROM. Searching Google for either of those error messages or where the exact location the rom files need to be placed hasn't turned up any results at all, except for one random forum post I found suggesting the files go in the DOSBox root. Typically these issues wouldn't be a big deal, but I'm having a hard time finding any real information.
beigemore
Sierra Enthusiast
 
Posts: 40
Joined: Sat Aug 06, 2011 6:13 am
Gender: Not Specified

Re: MT-32 Buffer Overflow and Checksum Errors

Postby Collector » Sat Aug 13, 2011 2:15 pm

What are your [midi] settings?
01000010 01111001 01110100 01100101 00100000 01101101 01100101 00100001

Image
User avatar
Collector
Grand Poobah
 
Posts: 10437
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 12:57 am
Location: Sierraland

Re: MT-32 Buffer Overflow and Checksum Errors

Postby beigemore » Sat Aug 13, 2011 4:43 pm

What I'm doing is loading DOSBox, and then going to Sound -> MIDI -> Device, and choosing the MT-32 option using ykhwong's latest SVN build.

Code: Select all
mpu401=intelligent
mididevice=default
midiconfig=
mt32ReverseStereo=off
mt32DAC=auto
mt32reverb.mode=auto
mt32reverb.time=5
mt32reverb.level=3
Last edited by beigemore on Sat Aug 13, 2011 4:53 pm, edited 1 time in total.
beigemore
Sierra Enthusiast
 
Posts: 40
Joined: Sat Aug 06, 2011 6:13 am
Gender: Not Specified

Re: MT-32 Buffer Overflow and Checksum Errors

Postby Collector » Sat Aug 13, 2011 4:50 pm

Try changing mididevice=default to mididevice=mt32
01000010 01111001 01110100 01100101 00100000 01101101 01100101 00100001

Image
User avatar
Collector
Grand Poobah
 
Posts: 10437
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 12:57 am
Location: Sierraland

Re: MT-32 Buffer Overflow and Checksum Errors

Postby beigemore » Sat Aug 13, 2011 4:55 pm

Getting the same error message as before.
beigemore
Sierra Enthusiast
 
Posts: 40
Joined: Sat Aug 06, 2011 6:13 am
Gender: Not Specified

Re: MT-32 Buffer Overflow and Checksum Errors

Postby Collector » Sat Aug 13, 2011 5:00 pm

Perhaps your ROMs are bad. Do a Google search for replacements.
01000010 01111001 01110100 01100101 00100000 01101101 01100101 00100001

Image
User avatar
Collector
Grand Poobah
 
Posts: 10437
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 12:57 am
Location: Sierraland

PreviousNext

Return to Sierra Game Tech Info

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest