Issues with Hi-Rez Metaltech Freeware releases

Before there was Pacific Rim, there was Metaltech! Enter the Earthseige! Enter the Battledome! Enter this section of the forum for any comments, questions or problems with any of the Metaltech games!
zeether
Noob
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Oct 31, 2015 10:55 am
Gender: Not Specified

Re: Issues with Hi-Rez Metaltech Freeware releases

Post by zeether » Sun Nov 01, 2015 9:22 am

I'm experiencing the same error with the ES2 installer where it freezes at "extracting audio track 2" but whenever I clear the cache in my browser and attempt to redownload it keeps throwing up "connection reset" errors or the installer just won't download and give me network errors.

Edit: I found out that I had to stop the cdda2wav process in task manager to get it to work. It asked if I wanted to download the music.

User avatar
Expack3
Sierra Obsessed
Posts: 169
Joined: Wed Apr 25, 2012 7:58 pm
Gender: Not Specified

Re: Issues with Hi-Rez Metaltech Freeware releases

Post by Expack3 » Sun Nov 01, 2015 1:41 pm

Collector wrote:I am not getting that with my Win7, so it may be a Win10 thing. More things depreciated than even 7. It is good that dgVoodoo2 worked for you. You are right that I am reluctant to include it with the installer. Some ATI cards don't like the wrapper and will crash a game that is using it. Still, nice to know and it can be offered as a solution if anyone else encounters that problem.
One potential solution would be using Microsoft's Application Compatibility Toolkit, included with the multi-version and Windows 10-exclusive versions of the Windows Assessment and Deployment Kit. I don't know much about how to use it, but I do know it can be used to create patches which enable certain compatibility flags normally not enabled by default, such as specific DirectDraw compatibility functionality, for Windows applications.
You like manuals. You like manuals. You love them. You cannot resist manuals.
Your gameplay experience is meaningless without manuals.

User avatar
Collector
Grand Poobah
Posts: 11129
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 12:57 am
Location: Sierraland
Contact:

Re: Issues with Hi-Rez Metaltech Freeware releases

Post by Collector » Sun Nov 01, 2015 5:48 pm

I already made a compatibility patch for the game. A little hard to work on a patch for Win 10 without having that OS. I really don't want to lose my Win 7, so I am waiting for my next machine.
01000010 01111001 01110100 01100101 00100000 01101101 01100101 00100001

Image

User avatar
Expack3
Sierra Obsessed
Posts: 169
Joined: Wed Apr 25, 2012 7:58 pm
Gender: Not Specified

Re: Issues with Hi-Rez Metaltech Freeware releases

Post by Expack3 » Tue Nov 03, 2015 8:20 pm

I recently was able to install the Hi-Rez Starsiege release on my Win7 laptop, and I discovered this version of the game is 1.01. While the game runs fine with the Vista fix, I haven't tried the Hi-Rez release without said fix.
You like manuals. You like manuals. You love them. You cannot resist manuals.
Your gameplay experience is meaningless without manuals.

User avatar
Collector
Grand Poobah
Posts: 11129
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 12:57 am
Location: Sierraland
Contact:

Re: Issues with Hi-Rez Metaltech Freeware releases

Post by Collector » Tue Nov 03, 2015 9:31 pm

The StarsiegeAndStarsiegeTribes.iso is just the first disc of Starsiege. It is missing the 2nd disc as well as the Starsiege: Tribes disc, even though the ISO's name suggests it is both. Not sure how to handle this with the installers. I don't feel comfortable distributing entire discs. Of course the complete series would also include Battledrome and the two CyberStorms, all with the CDA tracks. Someone should contact them, at least for the 2nd Starsiege disc and Starsiege: Tribes.
01000010 01111001 01110100 01100101 00100000 01101101 01100101 00100001

Image

User avatar
Expack3
Sierra Obsessed
Posts: 169
Joined: Wed Apr 25, 2012 7:58 pm
Gender: Not Specified

Re: Issues with Hi-Rez Metaltech Freeware releases

Post by Expack3 » Wed Nov 04, 2015 8:29 am

Collector wrote:The StarsiegeAndStarsiegeTribes.iso is just the first disc of Starsiege. It is missing the 2nd disc as well as the Starsiege: Tribes disc, even though the ISO's name suggests it is both. Not sure how to handle this with the installers. I don't feel comfortable distributing entire discs. Of course the complete series would also include Battledrome and the two CyberStorms, all with the CDA tracks. Someone should contact them, at least for the 2nd Starsiege disc and Starsiege: Tribes.
Correct me if I'm wrong, but didn't the Starsiege Universe collection come with only two discs, one for Starsiege, and one for Starsiege: Tribes? Also, wasn't there a single-disc release of Starsiege? If so, what's the difference between the single-disc version and the two-disc version?
You like manuals. You like manuals. You love them. You cannot resist manuals.
Your gameplay experience is meaningless without manuals.

User avatar
Collector
Grand Poobah
Posts: 11129
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 12:57 am
Location: Sierraland
Contact:

Re: Issues with Hi-Rez Metaltech Freeware releases

Post by Collector » Wed Nov 04, 2015 12:44 pm

I made the Starsiege installer based upon my original release, which came with a second disc. The first disc is labeled "Buddy" and the 2nd is labeled "Campaign". I do have the Tribes Action Pack, but never looked at it when I wrote the installers. This one does have a single disc for Starsiege and one for Tribes. The Tribes disc is laid out differently from the original version. I don't have Starsiege Universe, so I cannot say what those releases

I have not tried the installer with the single Starsiege disc release, but it would ask for the 2nd disc. I'll have to change the installer to make the 2nd disc optional to test it.

That aside, Tribes is still missing from the freeware releases.
01000010 01111001 01110100 01100101 00100000 01101101 01100101 00100001

Image

User avatar
Redrain
Noob
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Nov 09, 2015 2:14 am
Location: USA
Gender: Not Specified

Re: Issues with Hi-Rez Metaltech Freeware releases

Post by Redrain » Mon Nov 09, 2015 10:15 pm

Ah yes I'm surely one of the people that just downloaded some titles from the Hi-Rez freeware back, and as it turns out Earth Siege 2 seems to be giving me quite a few errors despite redownloading everything. While inmm error on trying to launch a mission is a big one the one that is the biggest pains has to be the menu errors where it refuses to display something simple as the main screen on reloading a save, and the fact when a video screen it decides to tint the screen red, and effect the video itself. So I was hoping for some assistance help fix the issues so I could at least run a test mission if it wouldn't be too much trouble.

User avatar
Collector
Grand Poobah
Posts: 11129
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 12:57 am
Location: Sierraland
Contact:

Re: Issues with Hi-Rez Metaltech Freeware releases

Post by Collector » Tue Nov 10, 2015 9:13 am

Did you download the audio tracks when asked?
01000010 01111001 01110100 01100101 00100000 01101101 01100101 00100001

Image

User avatar
Redrain
Noob
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Nov 09, 2015 2:14 am
Location: USA
Gender: Not Specified

Re: Issues with Hi-Rez Metaltech Freeware releases

Post by Redrain » Tue Nov 10, 2015 10:04 am

Yes I followed the installer, and installed the mp3 files, and from what I could tell it seemed to not have any issues during the process. Although looking into the audio file section seems like tracks of audio are missing or simply never downloaded in the first place based on them missing something as simple as all the files for the first training mission based on the names of each file.

User avatar
Collector
Grand Poobah
Posts: 11129
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 12:57 am
Location: Sierraland
Contact:

Re: Issues with Hi-Rez Metaltech Freeware releases

Post by Collector » Tue Nov 10, 2015 8:57 pm

Should be track02 to track06 in the base of the installed folder. Run the diagnostic and attach the log file here.
01000010 01111001 01110100 01100101 00100000 01101101 01100101 00100001

Image

User avatar
Redrain
Noob
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Nov 09, 2015 2:14 am
Location: USA
Gender: Not Specified

Re: Issues with Hi-Rez Metaltech Freeware releases

Post by Redrain » Wed Nov 11, 2015 12:54 am

Alright here is the file, and I took another look in the install location as well but still didn't turn up those missing files.
Attachments
diagnostic_log.txt
(5.47 KiB) Downloaded 158 times

User avatar
Collector
Grand Poobah
Posts: 11129
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 12:57 am
Location: Sierraland
Contact:

Re: Issues with Hi-Rez Metaltech Freeware releases

Post by Collector » Wed Nov 11, 2015 11:58 am

I made a slight adjustment to the installer. Download it again and do a clean install. If you still have problems, post a new diagnostic.
01000010 01111001 01110100 01100101 00100000 01101101 01100101 00100001

Image

User avatar
Redrain
Noob
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Nov 09, 2015 2:14 am
Location: USA
Gender: Not Specified

Re: Issues with Hi-Rez Metaltech Freeware releases

Post by Redrain » Wed Nov 11, 2015 1:30 pm

Hmm well I downloaded the installer again, and gave the entire game a fresh install only to be greeted with the same error when attempting to get into instant action so I didn't bother attempting to start the main story this time.
Attachments
diagnostic_log.txt
(5.86 KiB) Downloaded 140 times

User avatar
Collector
Grand Poobah
Posts: 11129
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 12:57 am
Location: Sierraland
Contact:

Re: Issues with Hi-Rez Metaltech Freeware releases

Post by Collector » Wed Nov 11, 2015 6:56 pm

I am not seeing anything obvious. It seems to have copied all of the files properly and the configuration seems to be right. The game requires two other things that should show in your installed programs. '_inmm.dll 2.28' and the compatibility patch 'ES.EXE custom database'. Be sure that both are listed in your installed programs list. If either is missing that is the problem.
01000010 01111001 01110100 01100101 00100000 01101101 01100101 00100001

Image

Post Reply